Alumni Board kicks-off new term

It was an enthusiastic and energetic first meeting for the 2018-2019 Alumni Board.  The group met in September to kick-off a new term.  Based on the exciting conversation, a productive year is ahead as the board works to strengthen the relationship between alumni and current students.

This year, we have new Alumni Board leadership, welcoming Michael Vilag, D.D.S.’13 as president and John Dinka, D.D.S. ’86, who will serve as vice-president in addition to joining as a new member.  Janet G. Miller, R.D.H. ’70, B.S. will continue a fourth term as secretary.  Four new members joined the board, including, Richard Raad, D.D.S. ’84, Basam Shamo, D.D.S. ’13, Benjamin Underwood, D.D.S. ’15, Jenna Strader-Zelek, R.D.H., B.S. ’01.

Michael Vilag, D.D.S. ’13, president

Vilag is happy about his new role and eager to serve as president.

“I love Detroit Mercy Dental!” he says. “I chose to join the board because I wanted another way to give back to my alma mater.  This school has done much for me, and I’m forever indebted to it. Being on the board also gives me a chance to stay connected with the new dentists and hygienists joining our profession.”

The Alumni Board works to develop unique opportunities that connect students with alumni and oral health professionals, which include alumni panel discussions, mentoring, mock interviews, and more.

The goal is for students to better understand what to expect after graduation and develop a network of colleagues in the profession.  Through the process, the board cultivates a relationship with a future generation of new alumni who will become part of the Detroit Mercy Dental legacy.

Each member serves voluntarily and brings unique perspective, counsel, and energy.  They are dedicated to ensuring our students successfully transition into practice and leaders in the oral health profession.

Learn more about the Alumni Board and how you can be a resource to students by visiting


2018-2019 Dental Alumni Board of Directors

Michael Vilag, D.D.S. ’13

John Dinka, D.D.S. ’86

Janet G. Miller, R.D.H. ’70, B.S.

Board Members
William Demray, D.D.S. ’75
Nicholas A. Fontana, D.D.S. ’72
John Kazanowski, D.D.S. ’79
Patrick Latcham, D.D.S. ’81
Mark R. Mortiere, M.S. ’82, D.D.S. ’86
Richard Raad, D.D.S. ’84
Basam Shamo, D.D.S. ’13
Benjamin Underwood, D.D.S. ’15
Jenna Strader-Zelek, R.D.H., B.S. ’01
Barbara Zrebski, R.D.H. ’75, M.B.A.